The Northeast Central Ohio (NECO) Regional Healthcare Coalition facilitates collaboration among hospitals and the healthcare systems and partners from public health, emergency management and emergency responders to protect and respond to bioterrorist events, outbreaks of infectious disease or other public health threats and emergencies.

The NECO planning region includes hospitals from the following counties: Summit, Stark, Portage, Medina, Ashland, Carroll, Columbiana, Holmes, Mahoning, Richland, Trumbull, Tuscarawas and Wayne. The 13 county NECO region is the largest of all seven Ohio Planning Regions with a total population of 2,255,042.

Goals and Objectives 

  • Assess hospital needs for response to a mass care event. Develop regional plans and resources for coordination of mass care response by building on individual hospital plans.
  • Facilitate training and implementation of new technology and online systems which would enhance regional communication and information sharing during a disaster.
  • Identify and develop pools of medical professionals for response in a mass casualty incident.
  • Standardize emergency and disaster communication within and across hospital systems.
  • Determine regional ASPR funding allocation to hospital(s) based on prioritized needs and confirm that dispensed funds are spent for approved expenditure(s).
  • Use the results of the 2017 NECO Regional Functional Exercise to identify gaps and opportunities for improvement and work to improve upon preparedness plans, training and outcomes.
    • Sarah Metzger, Director


      Steven Nuske, NECO Project Coordinator

      Angelique Gonzalez, NECO Administrative Coordinator

      Please click here for the NECO EP Website.   



      None at this time






      Ses Bankası

      Tanıtım Filmi Seslendirme

      Almanca Seslendirme